

LICENSED REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER

SCOPE OF PRACTICE

The scope of real property appraisal practice for a licensed residential real property appraiser shall be limited to noncomplex residential real property or real estate having no more than four units, if any, with a transaction value, or market value if no transaction takes place, of less than \$1,000,000 and complex residential real property or real estate having no more than four units, if any, with a transaction value, or market value if no transaction takes place, of less than \$400,000. Subdivisions for which a development analysis or appraisal is necessary are not included in the scope of real property appraisal practice for a licensed residential real property appraiser.

STEPS TO CREDENTIALING

- 1. Be at least nineteen years of age.
- 2. Obtain required qualifying education and submit certificates of completion <u>OR</u> hold a degree in real estate from an accredited degree-awarding college or university that has had all or part of its curriculum approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board as required core curriculum or the equivalent as determined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board and submit official transcripts evidencing successful completion of a degree in real estate or equivalent. A photocopy of an official transcript is not considered to be an official transcript. Unofficial transcripts may be considered invalid.
- 3. Complete a licensed residential PAREA program (or a certified residential PAREA program) or obtain no fewer than 1,000 hours of real property appraisal practice experience in a period of no fewer than six months that is acceptable to the Real Property Appraiser Board and meets the requirements of the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Act and Title 298. Submit experience on the real property appraisal practice experience log format in effect at the time application is made to the Board, or any previously approved experience log formats in effect at the time the experience was obtained and recorded.

- 4. Submit two copies of legible ink-rolled fingerprint cards or equivalent electronic fingerprint submissions for delivery to the Nebraska State Patrol in a form approved by both the Nebraska State Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The Nebraska State Patrol will not process cards if the information at the top of the cards is not completed, the cards are not signed by both the individual being fingerprinted **and** the official taking the fingerprints, or the cards are more than one year old. A fingerprint-based national criminal history record check will be conducted through the Nebraska State Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation with such record check to be carried out by the Real Property Appraiser Board.
- 5. Complete application and submit to the Board for review, along with a passport type photo and the application fee in the appropriate amount as specified on the application.

The Board typically meets on the third Thursday of each month. If you are submitting documentation for the Board to consider at its next meeting, voluntarily or at the Board's request, please have this documentation to the Board's office by 5 p.m. on Friday, two weeks before the scheduled meeting (e.g. for the Thursday September 21, 2023 meeting, please have documentation to the Board's office by 5 p.m. on Friday, September 28, 2023).

PROCESS FOLLOWING APPLICATION SUBMISSION

Any application received at the Board's office considered to be incomplete will not be processed and may be returned to the applicant. If an applicant is found to meet the general, education, and experience requirements in the Real Property Appraiser Act and Title 298, the applicant may be approved to sit for the National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination. If the Board's director finds that the applicant may not meet one or more of the requirements, the application shall be placed before the Board for consideration. If the Board finds that the applicant meets the requirements in the Real Property Appraiser Act and Title 298, the applicant may be approved to sit for the National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination. The Board may deny an application at any time during the process if the applicant fails to meet the requirements in the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Act and Title 298 that pertain to credentialing. Before submitting a new application, the applicant may be required by the Board to complete additional education; obtain additional real property appraisal practice experience; and/or not reapply for the same classification of credentialing for a specific amount of time to be determined by the Board. If the Board denies an application for any reason excluding the national criminal history record check, the applicant may file a new application, and if so, meet the requirements in place at the time a new application is submitted to the Board. If a new application for credentialing in the same classification is received within one year of the Board's denial of a previous application by the applicant, and one or more reports were reviewed for conformity with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice by a qualified disinterested

third party certified real property appraiser to assist the Board with evaluation of the applicant's experience for that previous application, the applicant shall pay any cost(s) associated with any report(s) reviewed. If the fingerprint-based national criminal history record check result is the basis for denial, the applicant is entitled to a copy of his or her national criminal history record.

- Board staff will process the application and review the general requirements, submitted qualifying and post-secondary education, submitted real property appraisal practice experience log(s), and document evidencing the successful completion of a PAREA program (if applicable) for compliance with the Real Property Appraiser Act and Title 298.
- 2. If the general requirements, submitted qualifying and post-secondary education, submitted real property appraisal practice experience log(s), and document evidencing the successful completion of a PAREA program (if applicable) are found to meet the requirements of the Real Property Appraiser Act and Title 298, at least three reports will be selected from the submitted real property appraisal practice experience log for review to qualify the real property appraisal practice experience. To qualify the real property appraisal practice experience of an applicant for the licensed residential real property appraiser credential, a minimum of three reports related to residential property will be selected. Staff notifies the applicant of the selected reports in writing, and the applicant has ten business days from the date of receipt of the notification to submit a true copy of each assignment results report to the Board's office. At least one assignment results report will be reviewed for conformity with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.
- 3. If the findings of the appraisal review assignment results are found to be null or insignificant by the director, an applicant's real property appraisal practice experience will be reviewed by a subcommittee consisting of two board members established by the Board for determination as to whether the applicant's real property appraisal practice experience is acceptable in accordance with the Real Property Appraiser Act and Title 298 NAC, Chapter 2.
- 4. If the subcommittee finds that the applicant's real property appraisal practice experience meets the requirements of the Real Property Appraiser Act and Title 298 NAC, Chapter 2, the subcommittee will notify the director of its decision. The subcommittee may authorize the director to notify the applicant of any appraisal review assignment results and issue a written advisory regarding any appraisal review assignment results.
- 5. If the subcommittee finds that the applicant may not meet one or more of the requirements of the Real Property Appraiser Act and Title 298 NAC, Chapter 2, the application shall be placed before the Board for consideration.

- 6. If the Board determines an applicant may not meet the real property appraisal practice experience requirements, the Board may request a written response to the Board's findings as to the applicant's real property appraisal practice experience and/or invite an applicant to a meeting in person or by conference call to discuss deficiencies found in the report(s). The Board may then reevaluate the applicant's real property appraisal practice experience. If the real property appraisal practice experience is not found to be acceptable, the Board may request the submission of a supplemental log with additional hours of real property appraisal practice experience of reports for further evaluation.
- 7. Upon approval of a processed application for credentialing as a licensed residential real property appraiser; approval of education; and approval and qualification of real property appraisal practice experience, an applicant may be approved to sit for examination.
- 8. The applicant is required to pass the National Uniform Licensing and Certification Examination approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board within twenty-four months following approval by the Board to sit for examination
- 9. The official copy of the test results must be provided to the Board's office within twenty-four months following the date on which the examination was successfully completed.
- 10. The applicant is required to submit the credentialing fee and national registry fee (if applicable) as specified on the application within 30 days of notice from the Board that the exam results have been received and the application process is complete.
- 11. Upon receipt of the credentialing and national registry fees (if applicable), the applicant will be issued a credential and will be authorized to act as a licensed residential real property appraiser in Nebraska.

QUALIFYING EDUCATION

To qualify for a credential as a licensed residential real property appraiser, an applicant must complete the following qualifying education requirements:

- Applicant holds a degree in real estate from an accredited degree-awarding college or university that has had all or part of its curriculum approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board as meeting qualifying education requirements, or the equivalent as determined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board. If the degree in real estate does not satisfy all required qualifying education for credentialing, the remaining class hours are to be completed in Real Property Appraiser Board-approved qualifying education as shown below.
- 2. Applicant must successfully complete a minimum of 150 hours in Board-approved courses of study as shown below.

BASIC APPRAISAL PRINCIPLES 30 HOUR	S
BASIC APPRAISAL PROCEDURES 30 HOUR	S
15-HOUR NATIONAL USPAP COURSE OR ITS EQUIVALENT 15 HOUR	S
MARKET ANALYSIS AND HIGHEST AND BEST USE 15 HOUR	S
APPRAISER SITE VALUATION AND COST APPROACH 15 HOUR	S
SALES COMPARISON AND INCOME APPROACHES 30 HOUR	S
REPORT WRITING AND CASE STUDIES 15 HOUR	S
LICENSED RESIDENTIAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT TOTAL 150 HOUR	S

Applicant is required to complete each course and pass examination for 150 class hours specified above.

EXPERIENCE

An applicant is required to have completed an AQB-approved Practical Applications of Real Estate Appraisal (PAREA) licensed residential program or no fewer than 1,000 hours of real property appraisal practice experience in a period of no fewer than six months, including a minimum of three residential assignment results reports.

- Real property appraisal practice experience obtained within the State of Nebraska, or as a resident of the State of Nebraska, for credentialing as a licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real property appraiser must be acquired as a trainee real property appraiser, registered real property appraiser, licensed residential real property appraiser, or certified residential real property appraiser.
- 2. At the Board's discretion, up to 50% of the real property appraisal practice experience required for credentialing as a licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real property appraiser may be obtained in another jurisdiction. This experience may be accepted by the Board if the experience is compliant with the laws of the jurisdiction in which it was obtained. If experience in another jurisdiction is obtained while holding a Nebraska trainee real property appraiser credential, the experience must be supervised by a supervisory real property appraiser who also holds a Nebraska real property appraiser credential and is approved by the Board as a supervisory real property appraiser for the trainee real property appraiser, in addition to being compliant with the laws of the jurisdiction in which it was maintained. Experience obtained in another jurisdiction as a Nebraska trainee real property appraiser shall be subject to direct supervision by a supervisory real property appraiser approved by the Board.

- 3. An applicant's hours of experience submitted to the Board for review and determination of acceptability by the Board shall be completed in compliance with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and shall demonstrate the applicant's progressive responsibility in the development and reporting of assignment results, which includes analyzing factors that affect value, defining the problem, gathering and analyzing data, applying the appropriate analysis and methodology, arriving at an opinion, and correctly reporting the opinion.
- 4. An applicant must provide significant real property appraisal practice assistance for real property appraisal practice experience credit to be awarded. An applicant may apply his or her signature, along with the signature of the supervisory real property appraiser in the case that the applicant is a trainee real property appraiser, or the real property appraiser-in-charge in the case that the applicant is a licensed residential real property appraiser or a certified residential real property appraiser if applicable, to the appraisal certification; or the applicant must be given attribution in the assignment results report, which includes a description of the applicant's significant real property appraisal practice assistance.
- 5. Real property appraisal practice experience hours obtained in any manner considered exempt from the Real Property Appraiser Act per NEB. REV. STAT. § 76-2221 will not be credited to the applicant, unless the applicant and the supervisory real property appraiser in the case that the applicant is a trainee real property appraiser, or the real property appraiser-in-charge in the case that the applicant is a licensed residential real property appraiser or a certified residential real property appraiser if applicable, verifies that said real property appraisal practice experience is compliant with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.
- 6. There need not be a client in a traditional sense (i.e., a client hiring a real property appraiser for a business purpose) in order for an assignment results report to qualify for real property appraisal practice experience. An applicant must apply his or her signature, along with the signature of the supervisory real property appraiser in the case that the applicant is a trainee real property appraiser, or the real property appraiser-in-charge in the case that the applicant is a licensed residential real property appraiser or a certified residential real property appraiser if applicable, to the appraisal certification for a non-traditional "demo" report.
- Real property appraisal practice experience submitted to the Board for review and determination of acceptability may include no more than an aggregate maximum of 25% of the total number of real property appraisal practice experience hours in the following areas or a combination from the following areas: (1) mass appraisal, (2) appraisal review, (3) appraisal consulting, or (4) restricted appraisal reports.
- 8. Pursuant to NEB. REV. STAT. §§ 76-2230 (1)(c)(i), 76-2231.01 (1)(e)(i), and 76-2232 (1)(e)(i), the aggregate number of real property appraisal practice experience hours considered for evaluation includes those hours reported on each real property appraisal practice experience log submitted by the applicant beginning at the log entry indicating the earliest date on which real property appraisal practice experience was obtained and ending on the date the

application for credentialing as a licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real property appraiser was signed by the applicant.

9. When making a determination that an applicant may or may not meet the applicable experience requirements, the Board will consider all information received, including but not limited to real property appraisal practice experience logs, USPAP compliance review reports, reports submitted by the applicant, any written responses received, any other details or file memoranda, any subsequent education requested by the Board to be completed by the applicant, and any information obtained during an informal meeting between the Board or its representative(s) and the applicant. A USPAP compliance review report completed to assist the Board with its evaluation of the applicant's experience is not the sole factor in the Board's decision, but a tool utilized by the Board to assist with its decision.

UPGRADE TO LICENSED REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER

Trainee Real Property Appraiser

A trainee real property appraiser is required to complete 75 additional hours of designated core curriculum education and meet the real property appraisal practice experience requirements prescribed for the licensed residential real property appraiser credential. The applicant is required to complete all of the steps to credentialing shown above, including the submission of a completed application for Nebraska licensed residential real property appraiser credential.