

Title 298 February 20, 2025 Public Hearing Proposed Change to Title 298 Fiscal Impact Statement

The Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board will meet at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, February 20, 2025 by virtual conferencing in the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board's office on the 1st floor of the State Office Building located at 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, Nebraska. Members of the public are invited to attend in person or by virtual conferencing. The Board will hold a public hearing for proposed changes to Title 298 of the Nebraska Administrative Code during this meeting. Draft copies of all rules and regulations to be adopted, amended, or repealed are available for examination at the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board office, Monday through Friday, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., and on the Nebraska Secretary of State's website at www.sos.ne.gov. The proposed changes to Title 298 maintain compliance with Title XI of the federal Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989; implement the Real Property Appraiser Qualifications Criteria effective on January 1, 2026; harmonize Title 298 with the changes made to the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Act through LB992 and the Nebraska Appraisal Management Company Registration Act through LB989 in 2024; implement a fee schedule for the credential application fee, renewal credentialing fee, temporary credential application fee, temporary credential application fee, renewal credentialing fee, temporary credential application fee, temporary credential application fee, temporary credential application for the preliminary criminal history review; include general updates for better clarification and administration; and reduce unnecessary regulatory burden and remove barriers to entry into the real property appraiser profession.

During the past thirteen years, the Board has identified cost savings through the increased use of technology and program evaluation, and during the past thirteen years, the Board has not increased any program fees. The Board's budget has increased by an average of approximately 2% per year and expenditures are regularly 10% below budgeted. Although the Board has exercised great financial discipline, a decade of incremental budget increases, no clear cost saving options remaining, the static number of credentialed appraisers from year to year, and the declining number of appraisal management companies results in the need for a minimal upward fee change over a period of time. The proposed changes to Title 298 implements a fee schedule for the credential application fee, renewal credentialing fee, temporary credential application fee, and temporary credentialing fee, AMC registration renewal fee, qualifying education activity fee, continuing education activity fee, and supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course fee through FY2027-28 as follows:

- A fee schedule is added to 298 NAC Chapter 2, §§ 004.01A.2 and 004.02A.2 to implement an application fee change from \$150.00 to \$200.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28 for those applying for real property appraiser credentialing through education, experience, and examination (\$150.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$170.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$185.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$200.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).
- A fee schedule is added to 298 NAC Chapter 2, § 004.02E to implement a credential fee change from \$300.00 to \$350.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28 for those credentialed as real property appraisers through education, experience, and examination (\$300.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$320.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$335.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$350.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).

- A fee schedule is added to 298 NAC Chapter 3, § 001.01B to implement an application fee change from \$150.00 to \$200.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28 for those applying for real property appraiser credentialing through reciprocity (\$150.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$170.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$185.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$200.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).
- A fee schedule is added to 298 NAC Chapter 3 § 001.05 to implement a credential fee change from \$300.00 to \$350.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28 for those credentialed as real property appraisers through reciprocity (\$300.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$320.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$335.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$350.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).
- A fee schedule is added 298 NAC Chapter 3, § 002.01C to implement a temporary credential application fee change from \$100.00 to \$150.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28 for those applying for a temporary real property appraiser credential (\$100.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$120.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$135.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$150.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).
- A fee schedule is added to 298 NAC Chapter 3, § 002.01D to implement a temporary credentialing fee change from \$50.00 to \$100.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28 for those applying for a temporary real property appraiser credential (50.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$70.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$85.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$100.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).
- A fee schedule is added 298 NAC Chapter 4, § 002.02B to implement an annual renewal credential fee change from \$275.00 to \$350.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28 for those renewing credentials (\$275.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$300.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$325.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$350.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).
- A fee schedule is added to 298 NAC Chapter 6, § 002.02A.3 to implement a qualifying education activity application fee change from \$50.00 to \$500.00 for qualifying education activities not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program and from \$50.00 to \$100.00 for activities approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28. The change in fee structure reflects staff time and resources required to complete review of a qualifying education activity submission. In addition, The Appraisal Foundation's fees for review and approval of an AQB approved qualifying education activity ranges from \$2,300.00 to \$3,100.00 per activity depending on the number of hours requested for approval by the education provider. The Board utilizes the same policies as the AQB for its review of continuing education.

(\$50.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025; for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026: (1) \$200.00 for activities not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for qualifying education, or (2) \$70.00 for activities approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for qualifying education; for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027: (1) \$350.00 for activities not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for qualifying education; for applications received on or after July 1, 2027: (1) \$500.00 for activities not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for qualifying education, or (2) \$100.00 for activities approved by the Appraisar Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for qualifying education, or (2) \$100.00 for activities approved by the Appraisar Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for qualifying education, or (2) \$100.00 for activities approved by the Appraisar Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for qualifying education)

A fee schedule is added to 298 NAC Chapter 6, § 003.02A.6 to implement a continuing education activity application fee change from \$25.00 to \$250.00 for continuing education activities not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program and from \$25.00 to \$50.00 for activities approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28. The change in fee structure reflects staff time and resources required to complete review of a continuing education activity submission. In addition, The Appraisal Foundation's fees for review and approval of an AQB approved continuing education activity ranges from \$1,600.00 to \$2,600.00 per activity depending on the number of hours requested for approval by the education provider. The Board utilizes the same policies as the AQB for its review of continuing education. (\$25.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025; for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026: (1) \$100.00 for activities not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for continuing education, or (2) \$35.00 for activities approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for continuing education; for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027: (1) \$175.00 for activities not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for continuing education, or (2) \$45.00 for activities approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for continuing education; for applications received on or after July 1, 2027: (1) \$250.00 for activities not approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for continuing education, or (2) \$50.00 for activities approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation through its Course Approval Program for continuing education).

• A fee schedule is added 298 NAC Chapter 6, § 003.04A.2 to implement a continuing education activity renewal application fee change from \$10.00 to \$25.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28. The change in fee structure reflects staff time and resources required to complete review of a continuing education activity renewal submission. In addition, The Appraisal Foundation's fees for renewal of an AQB approved continuing education activity is \$450.00 per activity (\$10.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$15.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$20.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$25.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).

- A fee schedule is added 298 NAC Chapter 6, § 004.04A.3, to implement a new supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course application fee change from \$25.00 to \$250.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28. The change in fee structure reflects staff time and resources required to complete review of a continuing education activity renewal submission. The Board considers the review and approval of a new supervisory real property appraiser and trainee course application to be similar to that of a new continuing education application. The Appraisal Foundation does not review and approve supervisory real property appraiser and trainee courses separately from qualifying or continuing education; therefore, no comparable fee is available (\$25.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$100.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$175.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$250.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).
- A fee schedule is added to 298 NAC Chapter 7, § 002.01B to implement a renewal registration fee change from \$1,500.00 to \$2,000.00 between FY2025-26 and FY2027-28 for those renewing AMC registrations (\$1500.00 for applications received on or before June 30, 2025, \$1700.00 for applications received on July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026, \$1850.00 for applications received on July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, \$2000.00 for applications received on or after July 1, 2027).

The Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board is granted authority to collect appropriate fees for its services under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-2241 of the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Act for the Board's use to administer and enforce the Real Property Appraiser Act, and to meet the necessary expenditures of the Board. In addition, the Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board is granted authority to collect appropriate fees for its services under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-3206 of the Nebraska Appraisal Management Company Registration Act for the Board's use to implement, administer and enforce the Appraisal Management Company Registration Act. The fee schedules identified above increase in fees from the current level to the statutory authorization level over a period of three years, which reduces the negative effect on those regulated by the Board. The Board's revenue increase aligns with projected expenditures as identified in its 2025-2027 Biennial Budget Request. Attached are three graphs showing the effect of the revenue changes on the Board's Appraiser Program, AMC Program, and overall.

All language pertaining to the procedures for administration of the preliminary criminal history review are removed from 298 NAC Chapter 1, § 013 as the preliminary criminal history review requirements do not apply to the Board. The \$50.00 application fee for the preliminary criminal history review is also removed, which will have no fiscal impact on the Board due to lack of applications. This change will have a positive impact on those regulated by the Board.

The non-refundable criminal history record check fee of \$5.00 for each year of renewal for maintenance of the random fingerprint audit program is removed and language is added for the late processing fee of \$25.00 for each month or portion of a month the application is late for any application received at the Board's office by mail post-marked after November 30, or for any application received electronically date stamped after November 30 in 298 NAC Chapter 4, § 002.01B and 002.02D. The late processing fee, authorized by Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-2233.02(2) and N.R.S. § 76-2241(d), is included in the Board's procedures, but not included in Title 298. This language is added for transparency as all of the Board's other fees are identified in Title 298. Removal of the non-refundable criminal history record check will have no fiscal impact on the Board or those regulated by the Board as the statutory authority was removed prior to the beginning of this fiscal year; the Board does not collect this fee. The addition of the language regarding the \$25.00 late processing fee will have no fiscal impact on the Board or those regulated by the Board as this process is already in place as authorized in statute.

Language is added to clarify that the late processing fee of \$25.00 is applicable for any for any renewal application received at the Board's office by mail post-marked after December 31, or for any application received electronically date stamped after December 31, if the date of initial credentialing is on or after November 1 of the current year, but before January 1 of the following year in 298 NAC Chapter 4, § 002.02D.2. This authorization is found in N.R.S. § 76-2233.02(2) and is included in the Board's procedures, but not included in Title 298. This language identifies the separate late processing fee start date for those that are awarded a credential after November 1 compared to those that hold a credential issued any time before November 1. The addition of this language has no fiscal impact as this process is already in place as authorized in statute.

The proposed fee changes will have no impact on other political subdivisions.





