Memo from the Board

to Nebraska Real Property Appraisers

2014 CREDENTIAL RENEWAL PROCESS
By Tyler Kohtz, Director

It is that time of year again; real property appraiser credential
renewals are fast approaching. The Board would like to remind
Nebraska credential holders of the requirements for renewal,
and provide information concerning the 2014 credential

renewal process.

All current credentials issued under the Real Property
Appraiser Act, other than temporary permits, shall remain in
effect until December 31st of the designated year. Please note

the following:

e If a credential holder is scheduled to renew his or her
credential for January 1, 2014, and his or her continuing
education period also ends on December 31, 2013,
evidence of continuing education completion, along
with the application for renewal, is due to the Board’s
office no later than November 30, 2013.

e If a credential holder is scheduled to renew for January
1, 2014, but his or her continuing education period does
not end until December 31, 2014, only the application for
renewal is due to the Board’s office by November 30,
2013.

e If a credential holder was awarded his or her initial
credential in 2013 prior to July 1, 2013, his or her
continuing education period does not end wuntil
December 31, 2014, so only the application for renewal
due to the Board’s office by November 30, 2013.

Page 1 of 3

September 19, 2013

Board Members

Chairman of the Board
Philip R. Barkley, North Platte
Certified Residential Appraiser
3rd District Representative
Term Expires: January 1, 2015

Vice Chairman of the Board
Thomas W. Kubert, Lincoln
Certified General Appraiser
1st District Representative
Term Expires: January 1, 2016

Board Member

Eldon J. Terrell, Bellevue
Financial Institutions Rep
Term Expires: January 1, 2014

Board Member

Marc V. Woodle, Omaha
Certified General Appraiser
2nd District Representative
Term Expires: January 1, 2017

Board Member

Chris R. Langemeier, Schuyler
Certified General Appraiser
Licensed Real Estate Broker Rep
Term Expires: January 1, 2018

*k*k

NRPAB

Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board

Tyler N. Kohtz, Director

301 Centennial Mall South, LL
PO Box 94963
Lincoln, NE 68509-4963

Phone: 402-471-9015
Fax: 402-471-9017
Website: www.appraiser.ne.gov



e If a credential holder was awarded his or her initial credential in 2013 after to July 1, 2013, his
or her continuing education period does not end until December 31, 2015, so only the
application for renewal due to the Board’s office by November 30, 2013.

If all requirements for renewal are not met by November 30, 2013, a credential holder will have until
July 1, 2014 to meet the requirements. A late renewal fee of $25 will be assessed for each month or

portion of a month the credential is not renewed.

To qualify for renewal, a credential holder must satisfactorily complete at least 28 hours of continuing
education during his or her designated two year continuing education period. The required
continuing education hours, with the exception of the 7-Hour USPAP Update Course and a Board
approved 7-Hour Report Writing and Case Studies Course, may be completed at any time during the
two-year continuing education period. The entire two-year continuing education period must be
satisfactorily completed prior to renewing a credential for a two-year period. If a continuing
education course is completed in another jurisdiction, the credential holder must provide evidence to
the Board that the course is accepted as appraiser continuing education in the same context in that
jurisdiction. For example, if a credential holder completes a 7-Hour report writing course in another
jurisdiction, but that jurisdiction does not require a 7-Hour report writing course for renewal, credit

for the 7-Hour Report Writing and Case Studies Course, as required in Nebraska, will not be awarded.

Although 28 hours of continuing education are required during the two year continuing education
period, some of those hours must meet specific requirements. All Nebraska credential holders must
complete the 7-Hour USPAP Update Course every two years, and a Board approved 7-Hour Report
Writing and Case Studies Course every four years. If the 7-Hour USPAP Update Course was last
completed in 2011, a credential holder must complete the course again before the end of 2013, and if
the 7-Hour Report Writing and Case Studies Course was last completed in 2009, a credential holder
must complete the course again before the end of 2013. Remember to check your completed continuing
education courses, and also when your next 7-Hour USPAP Update Course and 7-Hour Report Writing and
Case Studies Course is due through Appraiser Login.

Once again, the 2014-15 Renewal Application will not be mailed to each credential holder. Instead, a
postcard notification will be mailed out later this month, which will include the directions for
renewing a credential. The 2014-15 Renewal Application will be located on the Board’s website

at www.appraiser.ne.gov, and will be available later this month as well. A fillable PDF version of the

2014-15 Renewal Application will open when the “Renewal Application” hyperlink found under the
heading “Links” on the right hand side of the page is selected. The completed application, along with
any required documentation and fees, must be mailed to the Board’s office.
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http://www.appraiser.ne.gov/

Once an application is received at the Board’s office, and is processed by board staff, a postcard will
be mailed to the renewal applicant indicating that he or she has met the requirements for renewal of
his or her real property appraiser credential. Once again, the credential holder will also be directed to
print a copy of his or her new pocket card through Appraiser Login. If the requirements for renewal
of a credential have not been met, the renewal applicant will receive a letter from the Board outlining

any deficiencies and explaining the next step.

If you would like additional information regarding continuing education requirements, a PDF

document titled “Real Property Appraiser Continuing Education Requirements” may be downloaded

from the Board’s website at http://www.appraiser.ne.gov/. The hyperlink to this document is located
on the right hand side of the page under “Links.” Please contact the Board’s office at 402-471-9015, or

email Joya Weir at jova.weir@nebraska.gov, for any questions concerning continuing education

requirements or the renewal process.
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